RSS

Academic History Part 1: Graphic Design – Product Pamphlet – Summer 2005

12 Apr

Hey Everybody, The picture below was my first job after NIU. I had graduated the year before with my BS in Marketing and I had found that whenever I asked people if I could do marketing for them, they all said that they wanted me to make a pamphlet, magnet, etc. Now I’ve known the owners of Ream’s Elburn Market since I was three. When my parents moved to Elburn my parents made friends with the Ream’s because my dad is a big fan of cooking. He loved buying the food at the Meat Market. Eventually Mrs Janelle Ream taught my sister how to play Flute and piano. So I grew up knowing these people. For some odd reason that still eludes me, they liked me and still do. They hired me to work at the market for the summer of 2000 before I went to NIU. Fast forward to summer 2005, i was working for them again before I started working at the Big Box.

GraphicDesignProject1SdA by JHM Project
GraphicDesignProject1SdB by JHM Project

GraphicDesignProject1SdA, GraphicDesignProject1SdB, a photo by JHM Project on Flickr.

This was the first Graphic Design Job I did after I graduated NIU. This is what basically started me on the path i’m on today. I was only considering going to Waubonsee Community College when I got this job. When I finished I knew I could do better once I learned how to use Quark and Indesign. 

This is how it came to be.  While I was there I asked them if I could do some marketing to try and improve my resume. They asked me to do a pamphlet, just like everyone else. So I said I’d give it a try. If I messed up, they wouldn’t pay me and not think I was wasting their time. I got all the information from them to put in the pamphlet. I took the picture of the front with my mom’s Sony Sure Shot Camera. I then created the whole layout with my mother’s copy of Microsoft Publisher. I went through the templates, because I knew nothing on how this worked at the time. So I took bits and pieces from different templates to create something that wasn’t just plug and play. I charged them what they were paying me to work at the Market. As you can see they got what they paid for. Something simple. I still am very greatful that they gave me this chance and helped me figure the path I wanted to take.  That’s pretty much how this came about. 

More To Come.

Type ya later
James McGill

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 12, 2011 in Academic History

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
